4 January 2018

Call For Protest Actions Against Attacks On Dalits  in Maharastra


New Delhi, January 3: We, the following representatives from different organisations, has been issued joint statement  calling for national protest against attacks on dalits in Maharashtra on the occasion of Bhima-Koregaon battle of 200th anniversary.  We appeal to all democratic and secular forces, irrespective of religion and caste, to support our call. We also appeal Maharashtra state government to take stringent action against all those who responsible for these pre-planned attacks on dalits in Bhima Koregaon area.


On 1st January, 2018, Dalits were gathered on this occasion to remember  those martyrs in the war against Peshwas at Bhima Koregaon village. On the way to reaching this place, some sections, who were instigated by upper caste Hindutwa forces, attacked Dalits. Hoodlums engineered by RSS-Shiva Sena, flaunting saffron flags, started attacking the dalits by way of stone pelting and setting fire to cars. A 28-year old person was killed in stone throwing and many others were injured. This is pre-planned attack. Some Maratha leaders, who had camped in the area before few days prior to this incident, had incited hatred among the local residents and had also instigated the violence.


In this context, we, the following organizations, demand stringent action against all those who are responsible for this violence and also to give adequate protection to Dalits. In recent period, many incidents took place against dalits in many BJP-ruled states, which include Maharashtra with caste arrogance and narrow political interests.  


We called up on all our units in different parts of the country to come forward to condemn these attacks against dalits and organise protest actions in various forms in a democratic and peaceful manner.


The signatories are:  

Prakash Ambedkar, President, Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh (BBM)  And Convenor Of Dalits Dwabhiman Sangharsh]; V. Srinivasa rao [secretary,  dalit shoshan mukti manch (DSMM); A. Vijayaraghavan, general secretary, All India Agricultural Workers Union (AIAWU); Paul Divakar, general secretary, national campaign for dalit human rights (NCDHR) ; V S Nirmal,     Bharatiya  Khet Mazdoor Union; G Mallesh (National Campaign Council For Dalit Rights); Ashok Bharti, (National Confederation Of Dalit Organisations (NACDOR)); K. Anand Rao, President,  All India Dalit Rights Federation

30 total views, 1 views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *