Press Release: NAPM Condemns arrest of Akhil Gogoi and other KMSS activists

 March 5, New Delhi : The Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS) has been spearheading a vibrant peasant’s struggle in Assam raising issues of land grab, displacement and corruption. On 2nd March, 2014, Akhil Gogoi, one of the leading figures of the KMSS, was picked up from his residence in early hours of the morning, on charges of inciting Sri Pranab Boro to self-immolation. Though the National Alliance of people’s Movements (NAPM), mourns the death of Sri Pranab Boro, it condemns the Government’s attempt to malign the name of the KMSS in this tragic loss of life.

It is worth noting that mainstream media has quoted Boro’s wife as having said that Akhil Gogoi, is innocent and not responsible for her husband’s death. It is clear that the Government angered at the KMSS’s protesting Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi’s visit to Assam, has taken this drastic step to not only put down the land struggle but also crush the growing land rights struggle being spearheaded by the KMSS.

We the people’s movements from across the country stand in solidarity with the KMSS and Akhil Gogoi in this difficult time and hope that the land struggle and the KMSS will come out stronger after this test of their organisation. Thousands of supporters and activists of the KMSS have come out on the street in protest, we stand right with them in spirit and wish them strength.

We demand the Government of Assam to drop the false case against KMSS activists and to look deeply into the issues being raised by the KMSS, and for which Sri Pranab Boro laid down his life selflessly.

Medha Patkar (Narmada Bachao Andolan-NAPM), Arundhati Dhuru (NAPM-UP), Maj. Gen. Sudhir Vomatkere and Sister Celia (NAPM karnataka), Saraswati Kavula (Andhra Pradesh), Krishnakant, Anand Mazgaonkar (Paryavaran Suraksha samiti – NAPM Gujarat), Ashish Ranjan, Kamayani Swami (Jan Jagran Shakti Sangathan, Bihar), Prafulla Samantara (Lok Shakti Abhiyan), Dr. Sunilam (Kisan Sangharsh Samiti, MP), Sumit Wajale (Ghar bachao Ghar Banao Andolan, Mumbai), Prasad Bagwe (Ekvira Jamin Bachao Andolan, Maharashtra), Kailash Meena (NAPM Rajsthan), Bhupender Singh Rawat (Jan Sangharsh Vahini, Delhi), Vimal Bhai (Matu Jan Sangathan, Uttarakhand), Rajendra Ravi, Madhuresh Kumar, Seela M (NAPM Delhi).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *